Andy Goddard’s Blog


What my membership in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints means to me.
September 10, 2006, 8:25 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Last General Conference, Elder Hinckley invited us to write down what our membership means to us. Here’s my stab at it:

My membership in the Church is what allows me to be “born again,” to have a new name (the name of Christ), and to be readmitted into God’s presence. It is the symbol of my Divine Lineage because baptism is the God’s way of adopting children.

My membership in the Church is a privilege. I have grieved to see priesthood holders betray their wives and lose their membership.

My membership in the Church is an honor. For two years, I was honored to wear a nametag that bore the Church’s name and my name side by side. When I served in Sarcelles, I was spit on, had eggs thrown at me, and was called names because I wore the Church’s name. I would gladly die for the Church’s name.

My membership in the Church makes me part of a “peculiar people,” set apart from the rest of the world. It means that I don’t drink with everybody else, I don’t take the Lord’s name in vain, and I try not to do anything that would disgrace the Savior.

My membership in the Church means that I’m a card-carrying member of His kingdom. I help build His kingdom by serving His children. Everything I have (my money, my time, and my life) is a gift from Him, so I gladly consecrate it to His work. My membership allows me to enter His house and learn of and from Him. My membership allows me access to His throne of grace, with weekly cleansing and renewal.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Do you have to be a member of an LDS church to be a part of God’s Family

Comment by Christian

That’s a great question. I believe that we are all spirit children of God, and that he loves us all equally. Being a member in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints allows me to be cleansed and purified, so that I can one day enter His presence again.

Comment by goddard

Hey, Goddard! I remember you from Caen, the end of your mission and the beginning of mine.

I’ve been following the beginning of PLS a bit. Kind of rooting for them. Saw your name. You’re the only Goddard I know and I remembered that you were interested in computer graphics. So I followed the links and sure enough it’s Andy and he served in France.

It’s good to see you doing well.

For me being a member of the church means a lot of things. One of them is being part of an enormous family full of people that I like to be with. I think that is what makes heaven now and will be what will make it later.

Best Wishes

Doug Bradshaw

Comment by Doug Bradshaw

Andy-

Thank you for sharing your testimony/thoughts on what your membership in the Church is to you. I share many of your same sentiments.

Regards,
Mark

Comment by Mark




Leave a Reply

